Official website of the Paralympic Movement

The IPC - Who we are

Medical Committee

Listen to this page using ReadSpeaker

Established to provide expert advice on issues related to athletes in extraordinary circumstances who must take certain drugs for therapeutic use.

Membership: The Medical Committee shall normally be comprised of eight members, including the Chairperson and five members at large. The Committee meets at least once a year.

Function: To provide recommendations on all policies and operational matters related to the medical care of Paralympic athletes, including the review of TUE Applications in accordance with the WADC and International Standard for TUE, and monitoring the implementation of event-related medical care programmes.

Status: The Medical Committee is an extension of the former Therapeutic Use Exemption Committee, established in 2004 as approved by the IPC Governing Board in 2009.

Contact person: Dr. Peter Van de Vliet, IPC Medical & Scientific Director (peter.vandevliet@paralympic.org).

*Games-time related mandate until end of Rio 2016 Paralympic Games

Medical Committee
Function Name
Chairperson Dr. Cheri Blauwet (USA)
Member Dr. Wayne Derman (RSA)
Member Dr. Guzel Idrisova (RUS)
Member Dr. James Kissick (CAN)
Member Dr. Jan Lexell (SWE)
Member Dr. Nick Webborn (GBR)
Member Fariba Mohammadi (IRI)
Member Manos Bogdos (GRE)